Convocation and My Gold Medal

The general convocation of University of Moratuwa for 2009 was held on 25th of June. It was a great day in my life due to many reasons. Obviously the day of graduation is a special day for any graduand. But it was bit more special for me as I had a piece of gold :).

I was awarded the gold medal which is for the best performance (highest GPA) in the department of computer science and engineering department. It is one of the greatest achievements in my life and I’m really proud to bear it :)..

My Gold Medal I can remember two similar days in my school time at Richmond College. First one is the day I was awarded the Principal’s Medal for the best performance in G.C.E O/L examination (I was ranked 9th of the island). Second is the day I was awarded the Weerasinghe Medal for the best result in physical science in G.C.E A/L examination (I was ranked 5th in the district).

There are many people who helped me in my academic career which has become a great success. First of all I’m grateful to my parents who were behind me in every single day in my life. And also my two brothers who showed me the way right through. I always believe that the factor that they were extremely successful in their academic careers was a great catalyst for my career. Then I have to thank all my teachers from nursery to primary school (Christ Church boys’ college, Baddegama) to Richmond College to UOM. And also there have been lots of friends right from my child hood to my working place, who have helped and encouraged me immensely.

So at the end of the day, I have to say that I’m extremely happy about my academic career and proud to bear the gold medal. But I always believed and believe that there are at least few of my friends at CSE who deserve the award for “Best Performance” more than my self :). Unfortunately, the “Best Performance” was measured through the GPA. It’s true that there is no other way to measure. But I always feel like it doesn’t find the “Best Performer”. Sometimes you may feel that I’m stupid.. May be I am :D..

Finally I have to say that I’m really happy about what I’ve achieved and will try to serve my country in the best way I can in the future..

About isurues
Age : 24 Date of Birth : 05.11.1984 Country : Sri Lanka

9 Responses to Convocation and My Gold Medal

  1. Thilina says:

    Hey… Congratulations… You deserve it :)… Keep up the good work..

  2. isurues says:

    Hi Thilina ayya,

    Thanks a lot :D.. And also I have to be grateful to you for guiding me during my training period at WSO2.
    It’s always a huge fortune to have guidance from future Ph.D. holders..

    Ex : Dr. Eran Chinthaka, Dr. Ajith Ranabahu, Dr. Thilina Gunarathne, Dr. Ruchith Fernando etc..

    So how lucky we are??… πŸ˜€

    Hope everything is OK with you. All the best!..

    ~Isuru

  3. Excellent!!! my congrats Isuru malli.. may all your dreams come true like this one did.

  4. isurues says:

    Thanks a lot charitha ayye.. However this was not one of my dreams.. πŸ˜€

  5. Isuru Udana says:

    congratulations aiya!!

  6. isurues says:

    Thanks malli..

  7. sandakith says:

    Congratulations Malli !! Well done..

    Glad that you return the medal again to Richmondite πŸ˜‰

  8. isurues says:

    Hi Sandakith ayye,

    Thanks a lot.. Hope both of u r fine and doing well. Wish u all the best with your studies and everything..

    ~Isuru

  9. Sampath Dilhan says:

    Congratulation machan…!

Leave a Reply

